CAE – August 13

Posted: August 14, 2010 in CAE
Tags: ,

Hello everybody,

So, today you’ve taken 3 mock tests in class – Paper 1, Paper3, and Paper 4. I guess you were all pretty tired after that, huh?! Not only was it Friday after your regular school day, but you also had tests in school today (Saturday), if I’m not mistaken.

All in all, it was definitely something you had to go through. On the day of the exam, you’ll also feel tired, so it’s important to get used to that as well. But what’s next? What do I do with my results? The answer is to that is simple, even though the next steps are a bit more complicated. You’re going to use your test results to try to identify your strengths and weaknesses. But… how so?

Regardless of your result, you’re supposed to go over the tests again at home. This time, I want you to use your dictionary (or one of the online dictionaries you can find on the resources page) to make sure you check any new or unfamiliar words you come across. You’re also going to check your answers and try to identify why you made a mistake on this or that item of the test.

Next, you’re going to think about your strategies for tackling the exam questions. How do you approach Paper 1 Part 2, for instance? There is no right answer to this question, and what works for you might not work for your colleagues. However, sometimes what you’ve been trying doesn’t work for you. This is when sharing is so important. Therefore, if you’re looking for something to write about on your blog this week, a suggestion I can give you is to share your strategies for one (or two, three, you choose) part of the test. You’re not going to be sharing answers, but different ways to tackle the questions. The more strategies you are aware of, the easier it’ll be for you to find one that works for you.

Mock tests are supposed to be viewed as tools to help you make informed decisions. As you’re probably well aware of, you are ultimately responsible for choosing when to sit the exam – I can only counsel you to take it or not based on your performance in class. Make sure you use this tool wisely. And don’t forget you can always use me to help you prepare for the exam. Feel free to talk to me or email me with any question you may have. I’ll do my best to answer it promptly, and I’ll always be straightforward. I hope you understand that if by any chance I tell you to sit or not to sit the exam I’m not judging you as a person – I’m just giving you feedback on your current performance on the tests and the class.

Right now, I’d like to ask you to try to read in English as much as you can (again, check the resources page), and also listen to podcasts – this will help you a lot in your preparation for the exams. Next week we resume our normal activities. 🙂

Homework:

  • Handout – I gave you all a handout in the beginning of the class that deal with word formation.
  • Mock tests – go over Paper 1 and Paper 3. Do this carefully and make sure you use a dictionary. I don’t advise you do it all at once, but you could try doing 2 parts a day. Not only will it be more effective, but it’ll also be less time consuming, right?
  • Blog post – I suggested something above, but feel free to choose what you want to write about.

Enjoy your weekend!!

Leave a Reply

